Friday, August 28, 2009

92 Pacific Boulevard

92 Pacific Boulevard by Debbie Macomber is my latest read.

This is the 9th book in the Cedar Cove series. As this is a series the books build on each other so you would want to start with the first book and read forward.

You can follow this link to Debbie's website and see all the Cedar Cove books in the order they were written:

So on to the book. Troy Davis, Cedar Cove's Sheriff, is the "main" character in this book. Each book sort of focuses on one character but also includes the characters from the prior books. We get to hear from Olivia, Grace, Teri and Bobby, Christie, Rachel, Jolene and Bruce, Mac, Mary Jo, Charlotte and all the other great characters.

Troy is trying to straighten out some misunderstandings with Faith and move forward with their lives. But someone has seemingly targeted Faith and as Sheriff, and the man in love with her, it's up to Troy to figure out what's going on. And all the other characters have side stories that will keep you up to date with what's going on in their lives - and drop hints for the next books too. :0)

As in all the other books you feel like these are your friends and neighbors. Debbie makes the small town of Cedar Cove seem like home. And of course you're always left wanting more - at least I am.

This was an excellent read - as evidenced by the fact that it was just released Tuesday and I'm finished with it already. And I can't wait for the next book. I already know who will be the main characters in that one but you can read 92 Pacific Boulevard and figure it out for yourself.


Saturday, August 15, 2009

Death Of A Witch

I just finished reading Death Of A Witch by MC Beaton. This is the 25th book in the Hamish Macbeth series. I absolutely love this series and have read most of the books more than two or three times. It's like visiting an old friend.

Hamish is a constable in the remote village of Lochdubh in northern Scotland. He's sort of like Andy Taylor (The Andy Griffith Show). He solves his cases with a combination of intuition, kindness, common sense and a little bit of luck. The familiar cast of characters return - the Currie Sisters, Angela Brodie, Angus the Seer, Mrs. Wellington, Elspeth Grant, Priscilla Halburton-Smythe, Willie Lamont, Jimmy Anderson, Peter Daviot and of course Chief Inspector Blair. And not to be forgotten - Lugs and Sonsie.

The first victim is a woman the villagers claim is a witch. And Hamish had been heard to threaten her. There are plenty of twists and turns - including more murders, extra crime on the side and romance.

As always Hamish hopes against hope that the murderer is not one of his beloved villagers. Will he get his wish this time?

If you have not read this series before each story stands alone although there are references made to cases in the past - as well as the past romances. But it's much better to read number 25 than to feel like you have to start with number one and work your way up. Although I warn you that if you read any of the books you will be looking for the rest.

Now I wait, rather impatiently, for January 2010 when Death Of A Valentine will be released.

Ms. Beaton also has a wonderful series revolving around Agatha Raisin. And she has written a great series called the Edwardian Murder Mystery under the psuedonym Marion Chesney. I have yet to read anything she has written that I didn't thoroughly enjoy.


Friday, August 7, 2009

The Forgotten Garden

My latest read is The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. Ms. Morton is quickly becoming a favorite author. She's only published two books and I have devoured them both and loved them immensely.

The Forgotten Garden is the story of Nell, a four year old girl found on the docks of Australia in 1913. All she had with her was a small white suitcase with a couple of dresses and a book of fairy tales.

Not far into the story Nell's grand-daughter Cassandra picks up the search for Nell's true identity.

Told in the same fashion as Ms. Morton's first novel The House At Riverton (reviewed below) this story changes time frames and personal perspectives with each chapter.

In the present we follow Cassandra from Australia to England in the quest to discover who Nell really is. Nell's (adoptive) father tells her the truth of how she became his daughter on her 21st birthday. Nell passes away (as a quite old woman) not far into the story and leaves Cassandra some clues and a gift labeled "for Cassandra, who will know why" that send Cassandra off to England in search of answers.

The characters are richly draw and the chapters form a sort of puzzle waiting to be put together to reveal the picture of Nell's parentage.

I think one of the things I really like about Ms. Morton's writings is that I can't figure them out. So many books I read I figure out the end before the book gets to it. But not with these. Each time I thought I knew - I really didn't.

If you haven't read a Kate Morton book I highly recommend that you do.

This is definitely a DEAR book. (For those of you without kids in the public school system that means Drop Everything And Read).